We still have a few places available for Our Reception class - 2023. Please contact the school for a tour or apply via Cornwall Council.


Welcome to our page about School Governance.
Governors are for the most part people with jobs of their own who are not expected to run the school on a day-to-day basis. The governors’ role is largely a strategic one.
Governors are supporters of the school and often described as “critical friends”. When a governor comes into school, it is to learn and not to judge.
The history of the school governor is rooted in the belief that good education is not just a matter for educationalists and that it must be balanced with the views, opinions and experiences of people who exist outside of the classroom. Everyone on the governing body will have a mixture of skills, and a good governing body will have a broad mixture of different skills and qualities.
Each academy within Truro and Penwith Academy Trust has a Local Governing Body who are responsible for the oversight of the day-to-day management and administration of each academy (in accordance with TPAT’s Scheme of Delegated Authority).
The three core functions of school governance are:
• Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
• Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff; and
• Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent.
Our Chair of Governors is Claire Davies, she can be contacted on cdavies@lanivet.tpacademytrust.org, or you can write to her c/o Lanivet School, Honeys Hill, Lanivet, PL30 5HE.

The document below provides a complete list of the Governors, the date of their appointment and their specific responsibilities.

The latest register of pecuniary interests is also available to download below.
Mrs Claire Davies

Chair of Governors

Mrs Heather Jones

Vice Chair

Mrs Imogen Ward

Parent Governor

Mr Tim Gray